For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Bill Splitting

Overview

Bill Splitting lets a Customer split the cost of a Reservation with their friends. The Reservation Holder toggles on Split the bill on the last page of the booking screen, invites other Customers, and each person pays their share at the end of the Reservation.

Reservation Booking

The Reservation holder can toggles on Split the bill on the final page of the booking screen, the Order Summary page, to learn about bill splitting with friends. This toggle is informational only, and the Reservation hold can invite their friends to split the bill, once the Reservation is booked.

The cost of the Reservation is divided by the number of players who accept the invite. Meaning the first amount accepted is an estimate: if the number of players invited differs from the number who actually show up to the Club, the amount charged to each Customer changes. To read more, read Failed Charges with Bill Splitting.

Holds at booking

When the Reservation Holder books the court, a hold is placed on their credit card for the full amount of the Reservation. This full hold stays in place even if every invited Customer has a charge failure or cancels, so the Club is guaranteed revenue for the court in case of any unforeseen circumstances.

To review how much was charged to the Reservation holder or the invitees, the charge must finalize, splits applied, and the details of the charge are visible within the specific payment, not on the Purchases tab.

Meaning, staff must click in to a specific Reservation to see the total amount charged to a Customer after the split, where the Authorized amount and the Captured amount are shown.

When an invitee accepts the invitation and agrees to pay their part, a hold is placed on that invitee's card for the likely amount of their split. Invitees see that they are paying for part of the Reservation and must toggle agreement that they are willing to pay.

Seeing splits on the Dashboard

When viewing the Reservation from the Dashboard, staff will see when an Attendee is going to split the bill. This appears in the Attendees list as a dollar sign ($) in a circle under the Attendee's name, showing they have been invited to split the bill.

How and when Customers are charged

Once the Reservation is over, all Attendees are charged their respective amounts. For the Reservation Holder, the hold for the full amount of the Reservation is released and they are charged the new, lower amount split with the other Customers.

Email receipts and notifications

Only the Reservation Holder receives an email receipt from their Reservation booking. A Customer who is invited and accepts the invitation does not receive an email receipt for their participation. No email notification is sent when an invitation is accepted, to either the invitee or the inviter. The only Bill Splitting email is sent when an invitee rejects an invite, which is the existing behavior prior to Bill Splitting. See Automated Emails for more detail.

Last updated

Was this helpful?